It’s Monday, Finally.

monday10

I’ve been saying to myself every Monday that I need to get in on this whole “What Are You Reading?” extravaganza. And every Monday around 11pm, I look at the clock and my pillow and promise that I’ll do better next week. Well, just on the heels of a very inspiring Twitter chat discussing the importance of writing about reading, I am going all in with what I’ve been reading during the last month.

What I’m Reading

(from my classroom library)

monday9

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein

(Upper Elementary)

5/5 Stars

Fabulous. Period.

You can read the book synopsis here. This book will appeal to a number of different audiences for a variety of reasons. If your student is a gamer, he will love it. If your student knows a lot about authors and acclaimed literature, she will love it.  Action? Yep, it has that. Drama? That too. Do you have students who love a good mystery? This book is for them.  And for all the parents and teachers out there who shake their heads at the scandal of students not knowing the Dewey Decimal System any more, you’ll love it too.  There is nothing dark, nothing unsettling, nothing that makes you wonder if the book will be appropriate for every reader. It is pure fun the whole way through, and I cannot wait to introduce Mr. Lemoncello to my classroom library.

Monday8

Counting By Sevens by Holly Goldberg Sloan

(Middle Grades)

5/5 Stars

I wasn’t sure how much I loved this book until I found myself crying through the last two chapters. Willow is a character that will be with me forever.

a

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

(Upper Elementary/ MG)

5/5 Stars

When I started this book I thought, “Ughhh…this character is too bizarre. I won’t get into this.”  I can now say that weeks after finishing this book, I am still thinking about it.  I cannot imagine a middle grade student who wouldn’t be affected by the powerful messages woven into Spinelli’s story.  I would love to see our middle school use this as their One Book next summer.

Monday2

A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean

(Elementary)

(4/5 Stars)

Filled with emotion, heart, and truth.

What I’m Reading

(aloud to my students)

monday

Rump by Liesl Shurtliff

(Upper Elementary)

5/5 Stars

I loved loved loved this book. It has been the perfect read aloud to reinforce Notice and Note Signposts with my students before they go off into their book clubs. Wonderful characters and themes make for great discussion, debatable ideas, and lots and lots of writing about reading!

(AND…Shurtliff said she would Skype with my class when we finished. Woot!)

What I’m in the Middle of Reading

Monday3

Doll Bones by Holly Black

Monday6

Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

(because everyone loves a good sequel!)

What I’m Reading Next

                       Monday4         Monday5

When You Reach Me and Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead

AND……

What I Read Just For Me

monday11

Divergent by Veronica Roth

(YA)

4/5 Stars

Very entertaining. That’s exactly what I wanted when I downloaded this book! p>

Monday7

The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller

5/5 Stars

If self selected independent reading isn’t the backbone of your reading program yet, this is a must read! And even if you already know the value of individual reading plans, Donalyn will reignite a passion for reading and give you a renewed sense of the importance of establishing a reading community in your classrom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

